Friday, April 20, 2007

Jupiter from The Planets by Gustav Holst

Gustav Holst's "The Planets" has long been one of my favorite large orchestral works. The movements are named for the astrological symbols rather than the astronomical entities. The seven movements are:

  • Mars, the Bringer of War
  • Venus, the Bringer of Peace
  • Mercury, the Winged Messenger
  • Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity
  • Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age
  • Uranus, the Magician
  • Neptune, the Mystic

Jupiter, the piece played here, lives up to its name as the bringer of jollity. Enjoy!

No comments: